You Have Time

Greetings,

The past week or so has been a whirlwind of adjustments, planning, and then replanning. None of it has been fun and much of it has been painful. Our communities are swirling with uncertainty and fear. It is hard not to get sucked into it. It is hard to walk the line of caution and paranoia. I pray I have done it well. Odds are, in some moments I have, and in others, I have not. Out of the fog of the confusion and tragedy of all of this, however, something wonderful is happening. I hope you can see it.

Yesterday, the streets of my neighborhood had families walking on them. I heard on one of the news reports that the reporter had been cooking a lot. Just out of the blue, last night, a board game appeared. I’ve enjoyed coffee in my bed, worked on my house, laughed, worried, and discussed world events with my kids. We’ve prayed together, just randomly because we needed to. We’ve talked about sermons, worked out together in the living room, and the kids even had a sibling slumber party in the living room.

The world is going to be different when this pandemic has past. Nations will be different, markets will be different, jobs will be different, churches will be different, but most importantly, we will be different. We, collectively we, the world will have had the pause button pressed for few weeks. Let’s make the most of it.

Pray for the sick and the suffering …. You have time
Pray for the poor and marginalized …..
Heck! pray about everything ….. You have time ….
Read your Bible… You have time
Look at the stars… They are still there …. They are amazing!
Listen to music … You have time  ….. It’s beautiful! 

Fast… Go ahead and try it. Yes, I mean don’t eat for awhile. If you want to be strong spiritually,, you have to do things to grow spiritual muscle. Sometimes to do that, your flesh has to be a little weaker… You have time It’s worth it!
When you eat… Taste

Hug and tell those in you house how much you love them … You do!

Take the time to feel.

Thank God for all he has given you … Your very life, the lives of those around us, our ability to even be a human being is amazing. I know times are hard and the hurt is real.

The uncertainty is certain, but there is beauty around us and hope abounds because Jesus Lives! and Jesus Saves!

TH

Leave a comment